John T. Conway, Chairman
A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman
John W. Crawford, Jr.
Joseph J. DiNunno
Herbert John Cecil Kouts

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004 (202) 208-6400



July 22, 1996

The Honorable Victor H. Reis Assistant Secretary for Defense Programs Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-0104

Dear Dr. Reis:

The enclosure to this letter provides a list of Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) staff members, who in the performance of their work for the Board, require routine access to information pertaining to atomic weapons (as discussed in the Board's enabling legislation, 42 USC 2286a and 2286c). These personnel routinely evaluate Nuclear Explosive Safety Studies (NESSs), Safety Evaluations (SEs), dismantlement and surveillance operations and plans, facility Safety Analysis Reports (SARs) for nuclear explosive facilities, and other related tasks. Such technical reviews and analyses require knowledge of "information on atomic weapons," as discussed by the statute. Discussions between our staffs have indicated that having such a list would be beneficial to the Department of Energy (DOE) in executing its responsibilities for cooperating with the Board and for safeguarding classified information.

In addition to the listed staff members, there may be times when additional personnel have the need to access such information. For example, it would be necessary for the Board to access this type of information when it is required to investigate an occurrence or allegation at a facility that assembles, disassembles, or tests nuclear weapons. The mere absence from the enclosed list, or any later list, should not be construed as grounds for denying any Board staff member access to information deemed by the Board necessary for the accomplishment of its functions.

If members of your staff have any questions concerning the above, please have them contact Mr. Steve Krahn of the Board's staff.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway

Chairman

DNFSB Staff Personnel Requiring Routine Access to "Information on Atomic Weapons"

Wayne L. Andrews, Jr.
Steven L. Krahn
Charles R. Martin
Cynthia A. Miller
Jan Preston
William G. Von Holle
William I. White
William Yeniscavich